Pro­gramme 2021

BeOnline 2021 will be held on Tues­day 29 and Wednes­day 30 June.

We’re aim­ing to pro­vide a range of talks and ses­sions all about online behav­ioral research.  On two days, so that you can dip in and out and go to the ones that will ben­e­fit you the most.

If you want to a be a part of BeOnline, then we would love to read your abstract. The sched­ule will be final­ized in May 2021.

All times are in BST. For researchers locat­ed in the UK and Europe BeOnline 2021 will be in the after­noon, for those in the US it will be in the morning.

Tues­day 29th June

 

Wel­come to BeOnline 2021!

05:00 PDT
08:00 EDT
13:00 BST
14:00 CET
15:00 EEST
Intro­duc­tions
Jo Ever­shed & Prof Sophie Scott

 

Get­ting Stud­ies Online

05:15 PDT
08:15 EDT
13:15 BST
14:15 CET
15:15 EEST
Before COVID-19, online research was a choice, but recent­ly it has become a neces­si­ty. Since tak­ing the leap researchers are enjoy­ing the ben­e­fits of the speed, scale, and reach of online research. In this lec­ture we aim to cov­er these ben­e­fits in more detail, along with some of the key chal­lenges and suc­cess­es asso­ci­at­ed with online behav­iour­al research.
Dr Joshua Bal­sters (Goril­la) @DrBalsters

Wednes­day 30th June

 

A Buf­fet of Online Research

05:00 PDT
08:00 EDT
13:00 BST
14:00 CET
15:00 EEST
Remem­ber­ing What’s Mine: How the Own­er­ship Shop­ping Par­a­digm Went Online.
Tes­sa Clark­son (Uni­ver­si­ty of Queens­land) @tessaclarkson
  Jour­neys in the mind: the chal­lenges and ben­e­fits of using online meth­ods to under­stand dri­ver behav­iour and trans­port psy­chol­o­gy
Cather­ine Naugh­tie (Uni­ver­si­ty of Bath) @CatNaughtie
  Vir­tu­al in-time data col­lec­tion with child par­tic­i­pants
Sylvia Gat­tas (Uni­ver­si­ty of Oxford) @SylviaGattas
  GazeScor­er — Auto­mat­ed gaze direc­tion scor­ing from videos col­lect­ed online through con­ven­tion­al web­cam.
Dr Alex Fras­er (Uni­ver­si­ty of Oxford)
  Test­ing social inter­ac­tion in iso­la­tion: an online chal­lenge
Dr Bry­ony Payne (UCL) @bryony_payne

 

 A Buf­fet of Online Research

06:00 PDT
09:00 EDT
14:00 BST
15:00 CET
16:00 EEST
Build­ing an Engag­ing Child-Friend­ly Task for Remote Admin­is­tra­tion: Exam­ple of a Gam­i­fied Mouse-Track­ing Task on Paired Asso­ciate Learn­ing
Simone Lira Cal­abrich (Ban­gor Uni­ver­si­ty) @Simonecalabrich
  Con­duct­ing online research with blind par­tic­i­pants
Dr Eva D Poort (Max Planck Insti­tute for Psy­cholin­guis­tics) @EvaDPoort
  Online research with chil­dren with and with­out an intel­lec­tu­al dis­abil­i­ty
Dr Kather­ine Ellis (Uni­ver­si­ty of Sur­rey) @DrKrellis
  Does the speed of autom­a­ti­za­tion pre­dict dif­fer­ences in children’s lin­guis­tic abil­i­ty?
Ash­ley Blake (Uni­ver­si­ty of Birm­ing­ham) @ashleyrblake
  How do dif­fer­ent modes of instruc­tion deliv­ery impact data qual­i­ty in an online mul­ti-ses­sion cog­ni­tive study?
Jihanne Dumo (Uni­ver­si­ty of North­ern British Colum­bia) @JihanneDumo

 

All about Behav­iour­al Research in Industry

06:00 PDT
09:00 EDT
14:00 BST
15:00 CET
16:00 EEST
Live the­atre and Under­wa­ter night clubs: neu­ro­science in the real world
Prof Dan Richard­son (UCL) @eyethinkdcr
  What’s the colour of mon­ey?
Tim Rout­ledge (CX Labs)
  The cost of not exper­i­ment­ing? Learn­ings from the FCA
Alexan­dra Chester­field (Natwest) @alxchesterfield

 

All about Gam­i­fied Research

07:00 PDT
10:00 EDT
15:00 BST
16:00 CET
17:00 EEST
Design­ing and test­ing the Con­struc­tion­ist approach to games for basic maths
Prof Diana Lau­ril­lard (UCL) @thinksitthrough
  Using gam­i­fied train­ing to improve cog­ni­tive con­trol
Dr Niko Stein­beis (UCL) @LabDcp
  Pirates, Pub quizzes and Park­life: How to Study Group Process­es with Games
Prof Dan Richard­son (UCL) @eyethinkdcr

 

All about Con­sumer Deci­sion Making

07:00 PDT
10:00 EDT
15:00 BST
16:00 CET
17:00 EEST
Escap­ing the lab­o­ra­to­ry: Apply­ing lab­o­ra­to­ry find­ings in the com­mer­cial world
Prof Gareth Har­vey (Uni­ver­si­ty of Applied Sci­ences West­ern Switzer­land) @garethjharvey 
  Using Behav­ioral Nudges and Eco­nom­ic Incen­tives to Pro­mote Healthy Food Pur­chas­es in Online Retail Set­tings
Prof Pasquale Rum­mo (NYU) @PasqualeRummo
  Improv­ing atti­tudes to food: apply­ing behav­iour­al sci­ence to nudge peo­ple into health­i­er dietary choic­es
Dr Dim­itri Koutoukidis (Uni­ver­si­ty of Oxford)

 

Games Builder Demo

08:00 PDT
11:00 EDT
16:00 BST
17:00 CET
18:00 EEST
Research Games are a com­pelling way to increase par­tic­i­pant atten­tion and engage­ment. The Game Builder is designed to democ­ra­tize access to research games by reduc­ing the tech­ni­cal bur­den.
Nick Hodges (Goril­la)

 

Shop Builder Demo

08:00 PDT
11:00 EDT
16:00 BST
17:00 CET
18:00 EEST
To par­tic­i­pants Shop Builder looks like a nor­mal online shop, but behind the scenes it’s a pow­er­ful tool designed for behav­ioral research. Take a behind the scenes tour!
Nick Hodges (Goril­la)

 

Spe­cial­ist Sym­po­sium: MouseView.js — An eye track­ing alternative 

Host­ed by Prof Tom Arm­strong (Whit­man Col­lege) @PEEP_lab

08:30 PDT
11:30 EDT
16:30 BST
17:30 CET
18:30 EEST
MouseView.js: A no-eyes, mouse-based, alter­na­tive to eye track­ing online. What you can use it for, and how to use it on Gorilla.sc
Alex Anwyl-Irvine (Uni­ver­si­ty of Cam­bridge) @AlexanderIrvine
  Val­i­dat­ing MouseView.js for sex research
Sonia Milani (Uni­ver­si­ty of British Columbia)
  Star­ing Down Death: Apply­ing Eye and Mouse Track­ing to Unpack Sui­cide-Rel­e­vant Cog­ni­tion
Prof Jere­my Stew­art (Queen’s Uni­ver­si­ty) @QuERBYLAB

 

Spe­cial­ist Sym­po­sium: Motor Con­trol Online

Host­ed by Jonathan Tsay Berke­ley Uni­ver­si­ty of Cal­i­for­nia) @tsay_jonathan

08:30 PDT
11:30 EDT
16:30 BST
17:30 CET
18:30 EEST
Mea­sur­ing skilled motor behav­iors in the age of COVID
Dr Ryan More­head (Uni­ver­si­ty of Leeds) @rmhead
  PONT: A Pro­to­col for Online Neu­ropsy­cho­log­i­cal Test­ing
Dr Will Saban (Berke­ley Uni­ver­si­ty of California)
  Remote­ly Quan­ti­fy­ing Visuo­mo­tor Learn­ing with and with­out Move­ment
Dr Olivia Kim (Prince­ton Uni­ver­si­ty) @oliviaakim

 

Spe­cial­ist Sym­po­sium: Audi­to­ry Research Online

Host­ed by Prof Rachel Theodore (Uni­ver­si­ty of Con­necti­cut) @rachelmtheodore

09:30 PDT
12:30 EDT
17:30 BST
18:30 CET
19:30 EEST
Face mask type affects audio­vi­su­al speech intel­li­gi­bil­i­ty and sub­jec­tive lis­ten­ing effort in young and old­er adults.
Vio­let Brown (Wash­ing­ton Uni­ver­si­ty in St. Louis) @violetsarebrown
  Using web-based test­ing to reeval­u­ate the left ear, right hemi­sphere pro­cess­ing advan­tage for pho­net­ic cues to talk­er iden­ti­fi­ca­tion
Lee Drown (Uni­ver­si­ty of Con­necti­cut) @LeeDrown
  What Did You Say? A Web-Based Val­i­da­tion of a Speech-In-Noise Task.
Dr Jason Geller (Rut­gers Uni­ver­si­ty) @jgeller_phd
  Online speech per­cep­tion exper­i­ments: Democ­ra­tiz­ing sci­ence and teach­ing.
Prof Christi­na Y. Tzeng (San José State University)

 

Spe­cial­ist Sym­po­sium: Repro­ducibil­i­ty 2.0

Host­ed by Prof Sophie Scott (UCL) @sophiescott

09:30 PDT
12:30 EDT
17:30 BST
18:30 CET
19:30 EEST
Here, our pan­el of experts will each dis­cuss dis­tinct facets of Repro­ducibil­i­ty, fol­lowed by a group dis­cus­sion about the future of repro­ducible science. 
Jo Ever­shed (Goril­la) @EvershedJo
Prof Uri Simon­sohn (ESADE Busi­ness School, Barcelona/ AsPredicted.org) @uri_sohn
Dr David Roth­schild (Microsoft Research) @DavMicRot
Prof Mar­cus Munafò (Uni­ver­si­ty of Bristol/ UKRN) @MarcusMunafo
Dr Eka­te­ri­na Damer (Pro­lif­ic) @ekadamer

 

Poster Ses­sion

10:30 PDT
13:30 EDT
18:30 BST
19:30 CET
20:30 EEST
Host­ed by Jo Ever­shed (Goril­la) @EvershedJo

 

Thank you

10:30 PDT
13:30 EDT
18:30 BST
19:30 CET
20:30 EEST
Host­ed by Jo Ever­shed (Goril­la) & Prof Sophie Scott (UCL)

 

Sign up for BeOnline

BeOnline is the con­fer­ence to learn all about online behav­ioral research. It’s the ide­al place to dis­cov­er the chal­lenges and ben­e­fits of online research and to learn from pio­neers. If that sounds inter­est­ing to you, then click the but­ton below and reg­is­ter for the conference.

 

With thanks to our sponsors!

Poster 2021
Sona Systems
Poster 2021
Caul­dron Logo
pro­lif­ic

Part­ners

Psy­Pag
UKRN Logo